Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Phone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Opening Hours : friday and saturday 2 till 6 pm and by appointment

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Gallery on Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Phone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Opening Hours : Tuesday - Saturday from 2:30 to 7 pm and by appointment

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Gallery on Google Map® (France)

home / Exhibitions / Speerstra Gallery Switzerland / "Borders" Abstract Calligraphy by Stohead

STOHEAD ( Christoph Häßler )

True Lies Hd Stohead   Copie

Speerstra Gallery Switzerland / "Borders" Abstract Calligraphy by Stohead

from 2016-03-05 to 2016-04-30

"Borders" Abstract Calligraphy by Stohead

Eternally involved in the art of writing, Stohead raises his abstract calligraphy to a higher dimension in this, his second personal exhibition at the Speerstra Gallery. Ever impregnated by technique, this new series of creations on canvas and paper heralds the perennial accomplishment of his name, despite having worked since 1989.

His painting is as a breath, controlled, contrasted yet evanescent. In Borders, he conjures up very precise gestures that lead to multiple confrontations: sharp forms mingle with delicate, nebulous strokes against abysmally deep backgrounds. Like a scientist, Stohead crafts his own tools that he then masters serenely, as the other materials he uses, acrylic and ink, a liquid that defies control. The end result is unanimously acclaimed as elegant and mystical.  The compositions accentuate the letters that remain his primary obsession.

As in previous series of work, from Decomposition (2013) or Revolution (2014 Speerstra Gallery), to The Death of Writing (2015), Stohead consistently manifests an exciting progression in plastic arts. If we really focus our attention on the whole work of Borders, we see that the artist appears to invite us to comprehend his train of thought, the creative process of this calligraffiti that he loves to explore, imposing himself no boundaries. Between futuristic forms that recall the fruitful  '60's and dreams at the frontier of science fiction, Stohead blends diverse trends, constantly pushing back the frontiers of classical calligraphy. The writing is thus propelled into another dimension, fascinating in its modernity. Never betraying the demands of letter work for balance, we see here a deliciously concentrated Stohead who, with placid determination, works towards ensuring that his style and skill endure over time.

© Speerstra Gallery / Stohead

Speerstra Gallery Switzerland / "Borders" Abstract Calligraphy by Stohead

Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Téléphone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Horaires: Ouvert le vendredi et samedi de 14 à 18 heures et sur rendez-vous.

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Plan d'accès Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Téléphone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Ouvert du Mardi au Samedi de 14h30 à 19h et sur rendez-vous.

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Plan d'accès Google Map® (France)

home / Expositions / Speerstra Gallery Switzerland / "Borders" Abstract Calligraphy by Stohead

STOHEAD ( Christoph Häßler )

True Lies Hd Stohead   Copie

Speerstra Gallery Switzerland / "Borders" Abstract Calligraphy by Stohead

du 05/03/2016 au 30/04/2016

"Borders" Abstract Calligraphy 

Eternellement impliqué dans l’art du writing, Stohead emmène pour sa deuxième exposition personnelle à la Speerstra Gallery sa calligraphie abstraite dans une autre dimension. Toujours plus imprégnée de technique, cette nouvelle série de toiles et d’œuvres sur papier dirige l’artiste berlinois dans l’installation pérenne de son nom, bien qu’actif depuis 1989.

Sa peinture est comme un souffle, toute en retenue, contrastée et pourtant si évanescente. Il convoque pour Borders une gestuelle bien précise donnant lieu à de multiples confrontations : sur des arrière-plans d’une profondeur abyssale, des formes tranchantes se mêlent à des touches délicates presque nébuleuses. Tel un scientifique, Stohead élabore ses propres outils, des outils qu’il dompte avec sérénité tout comme ses matériaux : l’acrylique mais également l’encre, liquide peu docile. Le résultat est pourtant sans appel, élégant et mystique. Les compositions magnifient la lettre, son obsession première.

Dans la continuité des précédentes séries telles que Decomposition (2013), Revolution (2014, Speerstra Gallery) ou encore La mort de l'écriture (2015), Stohead confirme une exaltante évolution plastique. Lorsque nous prêtons une réelle attention à l’ensemble de Borders , l’artiste semble nous inviter à comprendre le cheminement de sa pensée, le processus de création de cette calligraffiti qu’il s’attache à explorer sans s’imposer de frontières. Entre des formes futuristes, évocation des années 60 très riches, et des rêveries à la limite de la science-fiction, Stohead fusionne des influences repoussant toujours plus loin les lois de la calligraphie classique. Le writing se retrouve alors propulsé dans une autre dimension, fascinante de modernité. Sans jamais faillir à l’exigence qu’implique le travail de la lettre, à savoir l’équilibre, on retrouve ici un Stohead délicieusement appliqué, placide et déterminé à faire perdurer son style et son savoir-faire.

© Speerstra Gallery / S.A / Stohead 

Speerstra Gallery Switzerland / "Borders" Abstract Calligraphy by Stohead