Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Phone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Opening Hours : friday and saturday 2 till 6 pm and by appointment

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Gallery on Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Phone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Opening Hours : Tuesday - Saturday from 2:30 to 7 pm and by appointment

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Gallery on Google Map® (France)

home / Exhibitions / Speerstra Gallery Paris présente I LOVE GRAFFITI - Bio / Crash / Daze / Sharp / JonOne / Stohead / Mist

CRASH ( John Matos ), DAZE ( Chris Ellis ), MIST ( Guillaume Lemarquier ), SHARP ( Aaron Goodstone ), STOHEAD ( Christoph Häßler ), Wilfredo "BIO" Feliciano

I Love Graffiti Bio

Speerstra Gallery Paris présente I LOVE GRAFFITI - Bio / Crash / Daze / Sharp / JonOne / Stohead / Mist

from 2021-09-10 to 2021-10-30

The Speerstra Gallery Paris is pleased to invite you to the exhibition "I Love Graffiti".

It is a look at a passion that the gallery proposes: the passion of the Post Graffiti movement. "I Love Graffiti" is a declaration of love for this art movement, its history, its artists, its different means of expression. Through a selection of works from 2000 to 2016, the gallery offers a fascinating insight into the links between the audacity of a spontaneous practice and the development of a true artistic movement.
7 artists represented by the gallery for over 30 years, together they share common passions: hip-hop culture, the practice of graffiti in the streets of their city, and each participate in the international recognition of this culture. All these aspects naturally led them to a fertile career. Today, they are among the artists who have convinced institutions and collectors.

Bio
Wilfredo "Bio" Feliciano began his career in the New York subway in the late 80s. His style was able to impose itself thanks to his explosive colors and his wild letters. He is a precursor of the diffusion of the culture by creating the collective "TATS Cru". This collective gathers several artists of the New York graffiti scene and carries out many artistic projects of great scale.

Artist rarely exhibited in France, his work "I love Graffiti" inspired this exhibition. It symbolizes the passion, the essential. Dominated by the neutral colors black white and gray, the painting highlights the contrast of the practice of graffiti, and the heart of Bio who lives to the rhythm of his graphics and colors. Bio's other works in the exhibition are renewed with impactful motifs, warm vibrations, and messages of love for graffiti.

JonOne
A Speerstra Gallery staple since 1992, JonOne has conquered the international art market with his compelling works. Born in the Harlem district of New York, his career is atypical and his work has evolved in parallel with his adopted culture, hip-hop.

A work that is both magnetic and subtle, "Lions in Alaska" is dominated by the color blue. The frenetic accumulation of multicolored motifs leaves a few spots of color surrounded by black lines. The density and the intensity of the work delivers nevertheless an obvious harmony.

Sharp
Aaron "Sharp" Goodstone, a key artist in the early days of the New York scene, has been able to evolve his work thanks to his sharp mind. His singular history pushes him to maintain the memories of civilizations, graphic memories and intellectual memories.

It is with a cameo of green that Sharp's work makes its mark in the exhibition. Green, the color of hope, is broken down into light and dark shades. A tangled and complex alphabet imposes itself in the center of the format like a carefully and consciously encrypted message.

Daze
From Brooklyn to prestigious museum collections, Chris "Daze" Ellis has been a leading figure in graffiti since the early 1980s, notably by participating in events alongside Jean Michel Basquiat and Keith Haring.

It is with a large format that the artist literally opens the doors of his history. This work with the sweet evocative name "Subway dreams" transports us into the genesis of the Graffiti movement. The support is a New York train car from the 80s. The artist has played the game of vandalism, with aestheticism, and dreamlike know-how.

Crash
True ambassador of New York graffiti, it is in the heart of the Bronx that the career of John "Crash" Matos begins. At the age of 13, he started painting trains, then began a studio work by painting on canvas in the 80s. He participated in the first exhibitions dedicated to the art of graffiti: first in New York at the Fashion Moda Gallery (1982), the Fun Gallery (1982), Sidney Janis (1983), then in Europe with the Yaki Kornblit Gallery in Amsterdam (1983) and the Speerstra Gallery (1984).


Two works, two styles, and yet complementary. "Art of the Line" is a tribute to Keith Haring's work on the billboards of New York subways. The most spontaneous, free, and deeply emotional expression. "East of her" is a work whose contours make the link with the pure graphics of the previous work. Colors, patterns and letters come together to present us with the portrait of the one who can embody the love of graffiti.

Stohead
Berlin-based artist, Stohead has been involved in the study of calligraphy in all its dimensions since his adolescence. He multiplies his approaches, refines his know-how until he can propose a new dimension to the letters and words he cultivates with impact.

Impactful work, contrasting work, obvious work. "Permanent" is the message that Stohead inscribes in his body and mind when we talk about Graffiti. It is profound, instantaneous. Both showy and lost in the shuffle, "Permanent" stands out as the indelible mark of a passion.

Mist
French artist, pioneer in the publishing of art toys, he is one of the first graffiti artists to have developed his art in volume. His work focuses on the aesthetics of letters, moving away from the traditional representation of graffiti while keeping intact the original dynamism and spontaneity of the street.

From the first solo show of Mist's career at Speerstra Gallery in 2008, the work "Hulk" reflects the frenetic energy that animated the early days of graffiti in France. Letters, colours, details and constructions intertwine to give life to the artist's "Style d'enfer".

Speerstra Gallery Paris présente I LOVE GRAFFITI - Bio / Crash / Daze / Sharp / JonOne / Stohead / Mist

Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Téléphone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Horaires: Ouvert le vendredi et samedi de 14 à 18 heures et sur rendez-vous.

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Plan d'accès Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Téléphone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Ouvert du Mardi au Samedi de 14h30 à 19h et sur rendez-vous.

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Plan d'accès Google Map® (France)

home / Expositions / Speerstra Gallery Paris présente I LOVE GRAFFITI - Bio / Crash / Daze / Sharp / JonOne / Stohead / Mist

CRASH ( John Matos ), DAZE ( Chris Ellis ), MIST ( Guillaume Lemarquier ), SHARP ( Aaron Goodstone ), STOHEAD ( Christoph Häßler ), Wilfredo "BIO" Feliciano

I Love Graffiti Bio

Speerstra Gallery Paris présente I LOVE GRAFFITI - Bio / Crash / Daze / Sharp / JonOne / Stohead / Mist

du 10/09/2021 au 30/10/2021

La Speerstra Gallery Paris est heureuse de vous convier à l’exposition "I Love Graffiti".

C’est un regard porté sur une passion que propose la galerie: la passion du mouvement Post Graffiti. "I love Graffiti" est une déclaration d’amour pour ce mouvement d’art, son histoire, ses artistes, ses différents moyens d’expression. À travers une sélection d’œuvres allant de 2000 à 2016, la galerie propose un éclairage passionnant sur les liens que tissent l’audace d’une pratique spontanée et le développement d’un véritable courant artistique.
7 artistes représentés par la galerie depuis plus de 30 ans, ensemble, ils partagent des passions communes: la culture hip-hop, la pratique du graffiti dans les rues de leur ville, et participent chacun à la reconnaissance internationale de cette culture. Tous ces aspects les ont naturellement menés vers une carrière fertile. Aujourd’hui, ils font partie des artistes qui ont su convaincre les institutions et le public de collectionneurs.

BIO
Wilfredo «Bio» Feliciano a commencé sa carrière dans le métro de New York à la fin des années 80. Son style a su s’imposer grâce à ses couleurs explosives et ses lettres aux allures «sauvages». Il est un précurseur de la diffusion de la culture du graffiti en créant le collectif «TATS Cru». Ce collectif réuni plusieurs artistes de la scène graffiti New-Yorkaise et réalise de nombreux projets artistiques de grande envergure.
Artiste rarement exposé en France, son œuvre «I love Graffiti » a inspiré cette exposition. Elle symbolise la passion, l’essentiel. Dominé par les couleurs neutres noir blanc et gris, le tableau met en évidence le contraste de la pratique du graffiti, et le coeur de Bio qui vit au rythme de son graphisme et de ses couleurs. Les autres œuvres de Bio présentent dans l’exposition se renouvellent de motifs impactant, de vibrations chaleureuses, de messages d’amour pour le graffiti.

JONONE
Artiste incontournable de la Speerstra Gallery depuis 1992, JonOne a su conquérir le marché de l’art internationale grâce à ses oeuvres puisantes. Né dans le quartier d’ Harlem à New York, son parcours est atypique et son travail a évolué en parallèle de sa culture d’adoption, le hip-hop.
Œuvre à la fois magnétique et subtile, «Lions in Alaska» s’impose par une dominante de couleur bleu. Les accumulations frénétiques de motifs multicolores laissent apparaitre quelques taches de couleurs cernées de traits noirs. La densité et l’intensité de l’œuvre délivre pourtant une harmonie évidente.

SHARP
Aaron «Sharp» Goodstone, artiste incontournable des débuts de la scène new-yorkaise, a su faire évoluer son travail grâce à son esprit affuté. Son histoire singulière le pousse à entretenir les mémoires des civilisations, les mémoires graphiques et les mémoires intellectuelles.
C’est avec un camaïeu de vert que l’oeuvre de Sharp s’impose dans l’exposition. Le vert, couleur symbole de l’espoir, se décompose en nuances claires et obscures. Un alphabet enchevêtré et complexe s’impose au centre du format comme un message précieusement et consciemment crypté.

DAZE
De Brooklyn aux prestigieuses collections des musées, Chris «Daze»Ellis a su s’imposer comme figure de proue du graffiti dès le début des années 80, notamment en participant à des évènements aux côtés de Jean Michel Basquiat et Keith Haring.
C’est par un important format que l’artiste nous ouvre littéralement les portes de son histoire. Ce travail au doux nom évocateur «Subway dreams» nous transporte dans la genèse du mouvement Graffiti. Le support est un décor de wagon New-Yorkais des années 80. L’artiste a joué le jeu du vandalisme, avec esthétisme, et savoir-faire onirique.

CRASH
Véritable ambassadeur du graffiti New-Yorkais, c’est en plein coeur du Bronx que débute la carrière de John «Crash» Matos. Dès l’âge de 13 ans il commence à peindre des trains, puis débute un travail d’atelier en peignant sur toile dans les années 80. Il participe aux premières expositions consacrées à l’art du graffiti : d’abord à New York au sein des galeries Fashion Moda (1982), Fun Gallery (1982) et Sidney Janis Gallery (1983), puis en Europe avec la galerie Yaki Kornblit à Amsterdam (1983) et à la Speerstra Gallery (1984).
Deux œuvres, deux styles, complémentaires et indissociables. «Art of the Line» est un hommage au travail de Keith Haring sur les panneaux publicitaires des métros new-yorkais. L’expression la plus spontanée, libre, et profondément intense en sentiments. «East of her», est une œuvre dont les contours font le lien avec le graphisme pur de l’œuvre précédente. Couleurs, motifs et lettres s’accordent pour nous présenter le portrait de celle qui peut-être incarne l’amour du graffiti.

STOHEAD
Artiste de Berlin, Stohead s’investit dès son adolescence dans l’étude de la calligraphie dans toutes ses dimensions. Il multiplie ses approches, affine son savoir-faire jusqu’à pouvoir proposer une nouvelle dimension aux lettres et aux mots qu’il cultive avec impact.
Oeuvre percutante, œuvre contrastée, œuvre évidente. «Permanent» est le message que Stohead inscrit dans son corps et son esprit quand on lui parle de Graffiti. C’est profond, instantané. À la fois voyant, et perdu dans la masse, «Permanent» s’impose comme la marque indélébile d’une passion.

MIST
Artiste Français, pionnier dans les éditions de jouets d’artiste (Art toys), il est l’un des premiers graffeurs à avoir développé son art en volume. Son travail se concentre sur l’esthétique des lettres, s’éloignant de la représentation traditionnelle du graffiti tout en conservant intact le dynamisme et la spontanéité originels de la rue.
Issue de la première exposition solo de la carrière de Mist à la Speerstra Gallery en 2008, l’œuvre «Hulk» reflète l’énergie frénétique qui anime les débuts du graffiti en France. Lettres, couleurs, détails et constructions s’emboîtent pour donner vie au «Style d’enfer» de l’artiste.

Speerstra Gallery Paris présente I LOVE GRAFFITI - Bio / Crash / Daze / Sharp / JonOne / Stohead / Mist