Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Phone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Opening Hours : friday and saturday 2 till 6 pm and by appointment

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Gallery on Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Phone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Opening Hours : Tuesday - Saturday from 2:30 to 7 pm and by appointment

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Gallery on Google Map® (France)

home / Wiki / ŠKODA ONE

ŠKODA ONE

Fantin Vial, a.k.a. Škoda One, is an obsessive and compulsive artist, close to conceptual art, art brut and graffiti. Born in France in 1980, he grew up in Seine Saint Denis. After a break in Vietnam and Mali, he has been living in the south of France since 2010.

The very form of his work which reminds us of punishment in graffiti, the compulsive repetition of his name, from saturation to palimpsest, refers to škoda, which in Czech literally means "damage".

Škoda One places time at the heart of his concerns. Neither instant nor duration, for him time is long and is inscribed, as in photography, in a paradox, where the apparent instantaneity of the action nonetheless gives us a glimpse of a piece of existence. A long time is a moment, a reflection, a piece of reality that will take its meaning in a still different temporality, which belongs only to the observer.

He says he is willingly inspired by the work of Roman Opalka, the cinemas of Hiroshi Sugimoto, the determination of graffiti artist Azyle, Alexey Titarenko's banister of stairs or by the energy and tenacity of the taggers of the 90s that continue to make ink flow today.

Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Téléphone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Horaires: Ouvert le vendredi et samedi de 14 à 18 heures et sur rendez-vous.

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Plan d'accès Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Téléphone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Ouvert du Mardi au Samedi de 14h30 à 19h et sur rendez-vous.

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Plan d'accès Google Map® (France)

home / Wiki / ŠKODA ONE

ŠKODA ONE

Fantin Vial, a.k.a. Škoda One, est un artiste obsessionnel et compulsif, proche de l’art conceptuel, de l’art brut et du graffiti. Né en France en 1980, il a grandi en Seine Saint Denis. Après une parenthèse au Vietnam et au Mali, il vit dans le sud de la France depuis 2010.

La forme même de son travail qui rappelle la punition en graffiti, la répétition compulsive de son nom, de la saturation au palimpseste, se rapporte à škoda, qui en Tchèque signifie littéralement «dommage».

Škoda One place le temps au coeur de ses préoccupations. Ni instant, ni durée, pour lui le temps est long et s’inscrit, comme en photographie, dans un paradoxe, où l’apparente instantanéité de l’action donne pourtant à voir un bout d’existence. Un temps long c’est un moment, une réflexion, un morceau de réalité qui prendra son sens dans une temporalité encore différente, qui n’appartient qu’à l’observateur.

Il se dit volontiers inspiré par l’œuvre de l'artiste plasticien Roman Opalka, les cinémas de Hiroshi Sugimoto, la détermination de l'artiste graffiti Azyle, la rampe d’escalier d’Alexey Titarenko ou encore par l’énergie et la ténacité des tagueurs des années 90’ qui continuent de faire couler de l’encre aujourd’hui.

Quelques Œuvres...