Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Phone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Opening Hours : friday and saturday 2 till 6 pm and by appointment

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Gallery on Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Phone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Opening Hours : Tuesday - Saturday from 2:30 to 7 pm and by appointment

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Gallery on Google Map® (France)

home / Wiki / Alex Kuznetsov

Alex Kuznetsov

ALEX KUZNETSOV (MINSK, 1978) IS A BELARUSIAN ABSTRACT PAINTER.

Following a lifelong passion for art, a renowned figure in the graffiti world, Moscow-based abstract artist Alex Kuznetsov creates his artworks across different mediums, including paintings, works on paper and prints. His energetic abstractions are awash with swipes of bold colours: blacks and whites, reds, blues and pinks. Colour fascinates Kuznetsov, bringing him to a state of meditative flux, where the process is as important as the result. Engaging with the vibrations of colour, Kuznetsov amplifies them with the power of movement and fully gives himself to an artwork.

One is often tempted to search for a familiar shape in an abstract painting. Vaguely resembling urban imagery – outlines of futuristic cars, contours of helmets, horizon lines with skyscrapers’ spikes – Kuznetsov’s shapes and colours flow, move and intertwine within the space of a canvas. However, in an abstract work the material and medium gain independence, becoming subject matter in its equal right. Departing from Gerhard Richter’s expressive superpositions of paint, Barnett Newman’s colour fields and Pierre Soulages’s outrenoir, Kuznetsov creates a unique body of work, which strikes the viewer with its inner energy. Applying acrylics with huge aluminum rulers, the artist is conscious of his movements: a mechanical gesture, a power of pressure becomes aggravated with meaning. Kuznetsov’s process-led abstract painting practice employs a tempered gestural language where fluidity is a defining material concern and the process of erasure has equal importance to the intuitive application of paint. The artist examines states of presence and remembrance by exploring a tension between control and eventuality.

Painting for Kuznetsov is a constant quest for perfection and reflects his desire to organise the world according to an innate sense of harmony. Kuznetsov does not provide narratives for his abstractions: instead, he sublimates his visions, bringing them to the canvas for the eventual viewer to decipher and identify with. The essence of Kuznetsov’s motivation is best described by Zigmund Freud’s in Formulations of the Two Principles Of Mental Functioning (1911), “An artist is originally a man who turns out from reality because he cannot come to terms with the renunciation of instinctical satisfaction which it at first demands. [...] He finds his way back to reality, however, from this world of phantasy by making use of special gifts to mould his phantasies into truths of a new kind, which are valued by men as precious reflections of reality.” (Freud, 1975, SE, XII: 224).

Born in 1978 in Minsk, Belorussia, his mother’s family rooted in Vitebsk, Alex Kuznetsov was attracted to painting from early childhood years. He became a graphic designer, then discovered spray paint in 1997; thus began his journey in the world of street art. Signed with the nicknames of Liquid, Ners, Awek, Temos and Monk, his tags soon became well-known all over post-Soviet territories as well as in Europe. On a visit to a Hong Kong commercial gallery in 2010, an enormous bright-red canvas captivated his imagination and impressed Alex with the power of pure colour. Later in the same year news of the Moscow metro bombing caught Alex on his balcony, staring at five canvases which a friend had left behind. Alex unpacked his sprays and started exploring a new medium. He never stopped.

Alex Kuznetsov lives between Moscow and Berlin. He collaborates extensively with publications, brands and private institutions such as Vogue, Absolut, Tumi, Adidas and Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation. His solo exhibitions were held in Lida Historical and Art Museum, National Palace of Art and National Center for Contemporary Arts of the Republic of Belarus, MSK Eastside Gallery in Moscow, Russia, Mirus Gallery in San Francisco, US. His work has been shown and collected around the world, including New York, San Francisco, London, Seoul, Hong Kong, Brussels, Geneva, Paris, Monaco, Barcelona, Moscow and Minsk. Alex Kuznetsov is represented in Switzerland by Speerstra gallery.

Speerstra Gallery / SWITZERLAND

Téléphone: +41(0) 21 824 20 10

Horaires: Ouvert le vendredi et samedi de 14 à 18 heures et sur rendez-vous.

Chemin des cerisiers,1
1183 Bursins,
Switzerland

Plan d'accès Google Map® (Switzerland)

Speerstra Gallery / PARIS

Téléphone: +33 (0) 9 83 01 45 86

Ouvert du Mardi au Samedi de 14h30 à 19h et sur rendez-vous.

24 rue Saint-Claude
75003 Paris
France

Plan d'accès Google Map® (France)

home / Wiki / ALEX KUZNETSOV

ALEX KUZNETSOV

ALEX KUZNETSOV (MINSK, 1978) EST UN PEINTRE ABSTRAIT BIÉLORUSSE.

Passionné d'art depuis toujours, figure reconnue dans le monde du graffiti, l'artiste abstrait Alex Kuznetsov, basé à Moscou, crée ses œuvres sur différents supports, notamment des peintures, des œuvres sur papier et des gravures. Ses abstractions énergiques sont inondées de touches de couleurs vives : noir et blanc, rouge, bleu et rose. La couleur fascine Kuznetsov, l'amenant à un état de flux méditatif, où le processus est aussi important que le résultat. S'engageant dans les vibrations de la couleur, Kuznetsov les amplifie par la puissance du mouvement et se donne pleinement à une œuvre d'art.

On est souvent tenté de rechercher une forme familière dans un tableau abstrait. Ressemblant vaguement à l'imagerie urbaine - contours de voitures futuristes, contours de casques, lignes d'horizon avec des pics de gratte-ciel - les formes et les couleurs de Kuznetsov coulent, bougent et s'entrelacent dans l'espace d'une toile. Cependant, dans une œuvre abstraite, le matériau et le médium acquièrent leur indépendance, devenant un sujet à part entière. En partant des superpositions expressives de Gerhard Richter, des champs de couleurs de Barnett Newman et de l'outrenoir de Pierre Soulages, Kuznetsov crée un ensemble d'œuvres unique, qui frappe le spectateur par son énergie intérieure. Appliquant l'acrylique avec d'énormes règles en aluminium, l'artiste est conscient de ses mouvements : un geste mécanique, un pouvoir de pression s'aggrave avec le sens. La pratique de la peinture abstraite de Kuznetsov, basée sur le processus, utilise un langage gestuel tempéré où la fluidité est une préoccupation matérielle déterminante et où le processus d'effacement a la même importance que l'application intuitive de la peinture. L'artiste examine les états de présence et de souvenir en explorant une tension entre le contrôle et l'éventualité.

La peinture pour Kuznetsov est une recherche constante de la perfection et reflète son désir d'organiser le monde selon un sens inné de l'harmonie. Kouznetsov ne fournit pas de récits pour ses abstractions : au contraire, il sublime ses visions, les transposant sur la toile pour que le spectateur éventuel puisse les déchiffrer et s'y identifier. L'essence de la motivation de Kouznetsov est parfaitement décrite par Zigmund Freud dans Formulations of the Two Principles Of Mental Functioning (1911) : "Un artiste est à l'origine un homme qui s'écarte de la réalité parce qu'il ne peut pas accepter le renoncement à la satisfaction instinctive qu'elle exige au départ. Il retrouve cependant son chemin vers la réalité, à partir de ce monde de fantaisie, en utilisant des dons spéciaux pour modeler ses fantasmes en vérités d'un nouveau genre, qui sont appréciées par les hommes comme de précieux reflets de la réalité". (Freud, 1975, SE, XII : 224).

Né en 1978 à Minsk, en Biélorussie, de la famille de sa mère ancrée à Vitebsk, Alex Kuznetsov a été attiré par la peinture dès sa plus tendre enfance. Il devient graphiste, puis découvre la peinture en aérosol en 1997 ; c'est ainsi que commence son parcours dans le monde du street art. Signé des surnoms de Liquid, Ners, Awek, Temos et Monk, ses tags sont rapidement connus dans les territoires post-soviétiques ainsi qu'en Europe. Lors d'une visite dans une galerie commerciale de Hong Kong en 2010, une énorme toile rouge vif a captivé son imagination et a impressionné Alex par la puissance de la couleur pure. Plus tard dans la même année, la nouvelle de l'attentat du métro de Moscou a surpris Alex sur son balcon, regardant cinq toiles qu'un ami avait laissées derrière lui. Alex a déballé ses sprays et a commencé à explorer un nouveau médium. Il n'a jamais cessé.

Alex Kuznetsov vit entre Moscou et Berlin. Il collabore largement avec des publications, des marques et des institutions privées telles que Vogue, Absolut, Tumi, Adidas et la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco. Ses expositions personnelles ont eu lieu au Musée historique et d'art de Lida, au Palais national d'art et au Centre national des arts contemporains de la République du Belarus, à la galerie MSK Eastside à Moscou, en Russie, à la galerie Mirus à San Francisco, aux États-Unis. Ses œuvres ont été exposées et collectées dans le monde entier, notamment à New York, San Francisco, Londres, Séoul, Hong Kong, Bruxelles, Genève, Paris, Monaco, Barcelone, Moscou et Minsk. Alex Kuznetsov est représenté en Suisse par la Speerstra Gallery.